Dog Licensing Law On Governor Brown’s Desk
Don't Miss This
- Starting Tuesday, California Law Requires Drivers To Give Cyclists 3 Feet Of Space On Road
- Missing Christian Brothers High School Volleyball Coach Found Alive In Oregon
- Police Detain ‘Django Unchained’ Actress In LA
- Researchers Say Sacramento’s Bad Roads Are Bad For Business
- Mountain Lion Linked To Southern California Boy’s Attack Killed By Wildlife Officials
Get Breaking News First
SACRAMENTO (CBS13) – A new bill sitting on the governor’s desk would fine dog owners for not licensing a pet.
The bill also requires pet stores and rescue groups that sell dogs to submit reports to local licensing agencies.
The fine for not registering your dog would be $100.
People who support the bill say it will generate $3 million annually in Sacramento County alone if only half of the pet owners registered their dogs.
“If we had something like this that required mandatory reporting of sales, we could go after the licensing revenue which comes directly back to the shelter. It would help us with taking care of the animals and also hiring other employees here,” said Dave Dickinson of the Sacramento County Animal Shelter.
According to the Humane Society only about 16-percent of dogs in California are licensed.