The US Women’s National Hockey Team has announced a boycott of the 2017 IIHF Women’s World Championship.

SB Nation reports that the team has pledged not to participate unless significant progress has been made in salary negotiations for the league.

Their boycott is on the basis of the Ted Stevens Amateur Sports Act, which requires USA Hockey to “provide equitable support and encouragement for participation by women where separate programs for male and female athletes are conducted on a national basis.”

Hilary Knight tweeted the official team statement.

The World Championship is on March 31, 2017 in Plymouth, Michigan. If the host country does not participate, USA Hockey will be fined $15,000.

[graphiq id=”4nywaYjP8Pj” title=”Hilary Knight” width=”600″ height=”747″ url=”” link_text=”Graphiq” ]


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s