asteroid

This graphic depicts the orbit of asteroid 2014 RC around the sun. A house-sized asteroid will safely fly past Earth Sunday afternoon, September 7, at a distance equivalent to about one-tenth of the distance between Earth and the moon. (Credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech)

Asteroid Will Zoom Within 25,000 Miles Of Earth This Weekend

A newly discovered asteroid will buzz Earth this weekend.

09/04/2014

star gazers

Students At Asteroid Viewing Party Spot Meteor Instead

It was quite a sight in the sky Friday night, but not necessarily what space enthusiasts expected after they saw what’s believed to be a meteor instead of an asteroid just hours after another cosmic coincidence.

02/15/2013

This radar image of asteroid 2005 YU55 was obtained on Nov. 7, 2011, at 11:45 a.m. PST (2:45 p.m. EST/1945 UTC), when the space rock was at 3.6 lunar distances, which is about 860,000 miles, or 1.38 million kilometers, from Earth.  (credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech)

Big Asteroid To Make Close But Harmless Zip By Earth

Scientists have been tracking an asteroid the size of an aircraft carrier that’s set to make a close but harmless swing by Earth.

11/08/2011