By Kurtis Ming

Chris Gerdes still remembers the first time he drove his father’s new 1993 Honda Accord.

“Yeah, the seat’s ripped,” Gerdes said, walking around the car, now with 19 years of rust, mechicanical problems and upholstery tears. “As you can see, it’s seen its better days.”

When his father, who had lived for years in Colorado, passed away in 2009, the car was now Gerdes. He brought it back to California, registering the vehicle with the state Department of Motor Vehicles.

He never expected to be overpaying every year, because the DMV had valued his car at $16,200.

“It’s got a lot of sentimental value, but it’s not worth $16,000,” he said.

It’s cost Gerdes about $400 in registration costs over the past three years, he said — money that’s become more and more important since he lost his job.

But the DMV wouldn’t reduce the value of his car.

“I’m having to sell me and my fiance’s stuff, just to make ends meet,” he said.

Drivers in California are required to pay 6.5 percent of their vehicle’s value, decreasing every year you own it.

When Gerdes registered his car, he had to enter its value. The DMV told CBS Sacramento Gerdes had claimed it had a $100 value.

The Kelley Blue Book value, however, was about $544 trade-in value as of publication date.

“The vehicle value should have been based on the current market value,” said Jaime Garza of the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Regarding the $16,200 value, the agency said, “It appears there was a keying error made.”

The DMV agreed to reduce the value and refund $438 dollars for the past three years.

Gerdes said that money will help him and his new fiance.

“It feels good. It’s really nice to have it fixed,” he said.

So how can you get your car’s value reassessed by the DMV?

According to state law, the DMV only adjusts the value upon sale or registration — otherwise it doesn’t have to update the value.

State law also makes clear that sales to certain family members do not result in value readjustment.

More information about California’s vehicle license fees (VLC) can be found on the DMV website.

Comments (6)
  1. Jan Smith says:

    Shame on you. Monday you reported the first school shooting was Columbine. The first was
    1991 at Cleveland School in Stockton. The second was Lindhurst High School in 1992. You reported. Both less than 50 miles from Sacramento. Do your homework. What disrespect for those lives lost!

  2. Janet says:

    Why are no local stations reporting on the huge recall for Newsome? Do your job as a reporter and cover this story. It’s big news.

  3. M.M says:

    Hello curtis this is my First time having to request or advice from you but my question is what does it mean or should I be worried when my employer gives us no choice but to go and work furlough does it benefit us? My concern is it better to go about it different?

  4. Jen Cole says:

    Regarding Dave Benders weather. Who does omit all the areas of Roseville and other Sacramento areas for weather forecasts and temperatures. I am forced to go to another channels for weather. Please add Roseville and Elk Grove to your weather news.j

  5. John Wells and Patrciia Wells says:

    Kurtis, A T And T Wireless took my phone back but never credited my $949.00 . Every time I call or go into the store they give me the run around. In addition ATT says it’s between me and the store. What would you suggest. I am 72 years old and this was a phone that we were going to port our old telephone number too with our recent move. Att U verse said it could not be ported. At which point we did not need the cell phone. The store has the phone and my $949.00.

  6. Tricia Marlow says:

    Why won’t governed GAVIN NEWSOM ORDER WATER DROPS FOR THSES FIRES?

Leave a Reply to Jan Smith Cancel reply