by Russell Preston, KHTK Sacramento

According to the team’s twitter, San Francisco 49ers head coach Jim Tomsula announced the offensive, defensive and special teams captains Tuesday, with little to no surprises in the group.

On offense, it’s lineman Joe Staley, wide receiver Anquan Boldin, tight end Vernon Davis and quarterback Colin Kaepernick. For defense, Safeties Antoine Bethea and Eric Reid make the list, as well as Novarro Bowman and Ian Williams. The lone special teams captain is the veteran kicker Phil Dawson.

READ MORE: Caldor Fire Containment Sits At 76%; More Evacuations Downgraded

After the numerous departures of pro bowl veterans this offseason, the new group of defensive captains is drastically different. Last season, Jim Harbaugh picked Justin Smith and Patrick Willis as the lone defensive captains, with Kaepernick and Staley representing the offense.

READ MORE: Fourth Stimulus Check: Is Another Relief Payment Coming?

This is Kaepernick’s third-straight year as a team captain. Under Harbaugh’s tenure, players could not become a team captain for more than two years in a row. Tomsula is starting fresh, allowing Kaepernick a third year. Captains were voted on by teammates.

Another new rule under Tomsula is the captains will not wear ‘C’s’ on their jerseys. His explanation: “I’m into the team game.”

MORE NEWS: California-Grown Cannabis To Be Judged At Next State Fair