SACRAMENTO (CBS13) — Mayor Kevin Johnson has nominated 11 people to serve on the new Sacramento Community Police Commission.

The commission is part of Sacramento’s “Officer Next Door” program, and was established following the shooting of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri that led to riots and protests across the country.

READ MORE: 430-Foot Asteroid Expected To Pass By Earth On Monday

Commissioners must live in Sacramento, and many represent various causes including civil rights, homeless, minority groups, and the religious community. Another commissioner represents the police officers union.

READ MORE: Multiple Millionaires Made In California On Thanksgiving Weekend; One In Sacramento

The goal of the new commission is to make recommendations to city leaders, and strengthen the trust between citizens and police officers.

MORE NEWS: CHP Investigating Deadly Crash Involving Sac Metro Fire Ambulance, Another Drive And Pedestrian

They will meet at least eight times a year, but they do not have the authority to investigate individual cases or subpoena witnesses.

  • Les Simmons
  • Betty Williams
  • Basim Elkarra
  • Cathy Thao
  • Rosalyn Van Buren
  • Bill Knowlton
  • Dr. Ernest Uwazie
  • Mariana Sabeniano
  • Clifton Roberts
  • Rick Jones
  • Timothy Davis