SACRAMENTO (CBS13) – Earlier this month, Flickr announced it would allow members to only store 1,000 photos on its site, unless that member paid a yearly subscription fee. The fee would be $50.

In the past, Flickr members could store up to a terabyte for free. According to CNET, only about 3% of Flickr’s 100 million users have more than 1,000 photos.

To soften the blow Flickr is offering members 30% off to upgrade to a pro account; however, longtime users will no longer have access to Flickr’s pro rates.

Come January, Flickr will not allow free account users to upload photos.  The next month it will start deleting photos for those who have more than 1,000 pictures stored on the site.

Tuesday at 10pm, one grandmother lost all of her photos she thought were safely stored in the cloud. How trustworthy is the cloud? Call Kurtis Investigates.

Comments
  1. I’m opting for PRIVACY! That’s why I switched to Kwilt. No more Google, Apple or Flickr telling me what I can and can’t do with my photos and charging me monthly fees. If you haven’t heard of it, you have to check it out! I can still access all of my pictures on my phone when I need them, but it’s on my own personal cloud at home! Check it out here: https://www.mykwilt.com/

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s