UPDATE: Lawmakers say the bill was pulled from Wednesday’s hearing, but it will come up in committee again in the next few weeks.

Previous story below: 

READ MORE: 'Both Benefit And Hazard': California Braces For Arrival Of Atmospheric River On Sunday

SACRAMENTO (CBS13) – A bill allowing state workers to bring their infants to work with them is up for a committee vote.

Assembly Bill 372 was introduced back in February. Wednesday morning, the bill was scheduled to be voted on in the Public Employment and Retirement Committee hearing.

RELATED: California State Workers May Get To Bring Infants To Work For First 6 Months

READ MORE: Icy Roads Along Carson Pass Cause Spin-Outs, CHP Says Drive Carefully

If passed, state workers would be able to have more parent-infant bonding at work.

Babies would need to be between the ages of 6 weeks and 6 months, or until the infant is crawling – whichever is earlier. Babies must also get medical clearance from a doctor and a surgeon.

The lawmaker behind the proposal thinks he may have the new governor’s vote since Gavin Newsom has shown an interest in parent-friendly initiatives.

MORE NEWS: Man Convicted Of Murder, Child Abuse In 2018 Death Of Stockton 2-Year-Old

In the past, a similar bill didn’t advance through the legislature.