SACRAMENTO (CBS13) — California has some of the strictest gun laws in the country, and on Monday, there was a renewed call from some lawmakers to make them even tougher, in light of the mass shooting in Gilroy.
Gun violence experts say a state’s gun laws are only as strong as those in neighboring states, and federal data shows thousands of firearms come into California from states where buying one is much easier.READ MORE: California International Marathon Expected To Bring In $10M To City Of Sacramento
Investigators say the 19-year-old Gilroy gunman bought an assault rifle legally in Nevada less than three weeks ago. The minimum age to buy a gun in Nevada is 18.'Thousands Of Dollars In Damage;' Sacramento Sideshow Organizer Arrested In North Natomas
In California, you have to be 21 to purchase a gun.
Currently, a senate bill is going through the California legislature that would prevent anyone from buying more than one gun, especially long guns, in a month. The bill would also prevent anyone under 21 from buying a semi-automatic rifle.
A San Francisco lawmaker has also proposed expanding the state’s gun violence restraining order law.MORE NEWS: Tracy City Council To Consider Appointing New City Manager At Upcoming Council Meeting
The legislature is back in session on August 12.