SACRAMENTO (CBS13) — Stop us if you’ve heard this one before: Someone wants to split up California.

But this time, venture capitalist Tim Draper is cutting his ambition in half. Instead of Six Californias, he’s looking at just three in a proposed initiative filed with the California Attorney General on Friday.

READ MORE: Fire Damages Commercial Structure In Arden-Arcade

Northern Californians looking to run away from Sacramento and San Francisco to join the state of Jefferson will be severely disappointed as the proposal draws the line for Northern California all the way past the current state capital.

The new California would consist of coastal regions including Monterey County and Los Angeles.

Southern California, which you might expect would include Los Angeles, instead covers counties ranging from Fresno to San Diego.

The fate of Tulare County is assumed to be a part of Southern California, but Draper’s proposal left the county out, presumably to be annexed to Nevada, and instead opted to pick Imperial County twice.

READ MORE: Gov. Newsom Pardons Woman Sentenced To Life In 90s For Fatally Shooting Abuser

Here’s a list of the counties in each region:


  • Alameda
  • Alpine
  • Amador
  • Butte
  • Calaveras
  • Colusa,
  • Contra Costa
  • Del Norte
  • El Dorado
  • Glenn
  • Humboldt
  • Lake
  • Lassen
  • Marin
  • Mariposa
  • Mendocino
  • Merced
  • Modoc
  • Napa
  • Nevada
  • Placer
  • Plumas
  • Sacramento
  • San Francisco
  • San Joaquin
  • San Mateo
  • Santa Clara
  • Santa Cruz
  • Sierra
  • Siskiyou
  • Shasta
  • Solano
  • Sonoma
  • Stanislaus
  • Sutter
  • Tehama
  • Trinity
  • Tuolumne
  • Yolo
  • Yuba


  • Los Angeles
  • Monterey
  • San Benito
  • San Luis Obispo
  • Santa Barbara
  • Ventura


  • Fresno
  • Imperial (twice)
  • Inyo
  • Kern
  • Kings
  • Madera
  • Mono
  • Orange
  • Riverside
  • San Bernardino
  • San Diego
MORE NEWS: Kings Run Away In 4th, Top Heat 81-64 At California Classic


  • Tulare