SACRAMENTO (CBS13) — Lawmakers introduced legislation Monday that would lower the legal Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) limit from 0.08 percent to 0.05 percent.

Assembly Bill 1713, known as Liam’s Law, would trigger a DUI charge for any driver found behind the wheel with a BAC over 0.05 percent.

READ MORE: Grass Fire Threatens Structures, Forces Evacuations In Elk Grove

READ ALSO: Owe Child Support? California May Post Your Name, Picture, And Amount You Owe Online

READ MORE: California's Power Grid Operator Urges Residents To Conserve Energy Amid Heat Wave

The bill is named in honor of a 15-month-old who died in an alcohol-related traffic crash in 2016.

MORE NEWS: Man Arrested After Road Rage Incident Involves Gunshots, Illegal Fireworks in Modesto

According to co-author Senator Jerry Hill, 100 countries have 0.05 BAC laws, and the level is recommended by the National Transportation Safety Board to reduce the 1,000 DUI deaths and 20,000 injuries in California each year.