Store’s Liquor License Suspended After Deadly California Bus Crash

FRESNO (AP) — State officials have suspended the liquor license of a store that furnished alcohol to an underage driver who caused a Greyhound bus crash near Fresno that killed five people including a Sacramento man.

The California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control suspended the license of Fresno’s A-1 Liquor & Deli on Wednesday.

Officials say store co-owner Mohamed Alyafaie sold two bottles of vodka to a 21-year-old woman. But 18-year-old Sylvia Garay carried the alcohol to the counter and was present during the transaction.

A California Highway Patrol report placed sole blame for the July 2010 crash on Garay. Investigators say she was drunk when she crashed her SUV on Highway 99, then was struck by the bus.

Garay, her two passengers and three people on the bus were killed including the bus driver, James Jewitt of Sacramento.

The suspension will be lifted once the business is sold to a new owner.

Copyright 2011 The Associated Press.

Comments

One Comment

  1. John says:

    AW! C”MON! That is STRETCHING what happened! How in the friggin’ is it the store’s fault when the ADULT person purchased the lliquor?!?!?! WHO cares who put the liquor on the counter! IDIOTS! FRIGGIN’ IDIOTS!

  2. Wilhelm says:

    So her 21 year old friend has no responsibility in this??? Yep, that is wrong to blame the liquor store for this. Morons working for the CHP.

  3. blurbo676 says:

    I’ve worked in drug stores and convenience stores since I was 16 years old (I’m now 47). I’ve sold alcohol at every one of those places. I can tell you with certainty that THE LAW STATES that if there are two or more people participating in the purchase of alcohol, then *everyone* has to show their ID.

    Even if the “other” person never touches the alcohol, but they’re helping the original person decide what to buy, then they are participating in the purchase of the alcohol and must show ID.

    Police departments, along with ABC agents do sting operations to make sure store clerks follow that law. If the clerks fail the test then the state slaps a big fine on both the store clerk and the store owner.

    So yes, in this case in Fresno the 18 year old carried the alcohol to the counter and the 21 year old presented the money for payment, so BOTH were participating in the purchase of the alcohol, so BOTH should have been asked for ID, and when the 18 year old got caught the clerk should have refused the sale to BOTH customers.

    We all have to live by the law. It’s not pick-and-choose.

  4. Cal says:

    I agree John…Not the stores fault!

  5. gna says:

    That is stupid, if I were on the jury, that store owner wouldn’t be liable, I hand the judge a hung jury…..

  6. TBABY says:

    WHY WAS THE 21 YEAR OLD WHO PAID FOR IT NOT CHARGED? WHY IS THE PERSON WHO BOUGHT THE VEHICLE FOR THIS YOUNG LADY NOT CHARGED FOR BUYING HER THE CAR KNOWING SHE DRANK? LET’S SEE WHO ELSE CAN WE BLAME- SAY ANYONE WHO SHE WATCHED HAVE A DRINK OR GOT DRUNK AT ANY FAMILY FUNCTIONS? WHO ELSE, WHO ELSE? GOD BLESS TO THE FAMILIES WHOSE LIFE HAS BEEN DESTROYED BY OTHERS ALCOHOL USE. AND WE COMPLAIN ABOUT HOW CIGARETTES KILL AND ATTEMPTING TO KILL THEM, BUT ALCOHOL…HUM!!!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From CBS Sacramento

Sign-Up Now For Our 2016 Knockout Pool
Tickets to aftershock now on sale

Listen Live