cbs13headerlogo-1 SPORTS1140HeaderLogo gooddayheaderlogo (1)

Arts & Culture

Best Specialty Bookstores In Sacramento

April 29, 2013 5:00 AM

View Comments

Sacramento’s abundance of bookstores reflect the diverse interests and viewpoints of this well-read community. Whether your passion is Persian art, ballet, spirituality, comics or rare 19th century history, there are a myriad of volumes available. Even parents educating their children at home can find every resource they need through local bookshops large and small.

(credit: richardpressartbooks.com)

(credit: richardpressartbooks.com)


Richard L. Press Fine And Scholarly Books On the Arts
1831 F St., Suite A
Sacramento, CA 95811
(916) 447-3413
www.richardpressartbooks.com

Press carries around 7,000 books on a wide variety of art-related topics, a majority of which are no longer in print. There are books on textiles, dance, sculpture, film, graphic arts, interior design and architecture, as well as many specializing on Native American, Asian, Middle Eastern, Judaic and Latin American art. The shop has a particular focus on artistic works from WWI to the mid-1970s, but the stock reveals the owner’s fascination with the cultural and social influences on the psyche of artists as well.

(credit: sunlightofthespiritbooks.com)

(credit: sunlightofthespiritbooks.com)


Sunlight of the Spirit Books & Gifts    
2314 J St.
Sacramento, CA 95816
(916) 440-1533
www.sunlightofthespiritbooks.com

Recovery and growth are the focus at Sunlight, whether related to addiction, forgiveness, mysticism, faith or personal relationships with the universe. The store’s stock reflects an openness to exploring many paths to healing and enlightenment, including homeopathy, chakra balancing, shamanism and more mainstream methodologies. Books and workshops run the gamut from gambling or substance addiction, psychic defense and channeling to tea leaf reading and the pursuit of social justice and inner peace.

Related: Best Books About Sacramento

(credit: facebook.com/pages/Big-Brother-Comics)

(credit: facebook.com/pages/Big-Brother-Comics)


Big Brother Comics
1722 J St.
Sacramento, CA 95811
(916) 441-6461
www.facebook.com/Big-Brother-Comics

Big Brother is all about fun, expansive imaginations and creative gaming. Fans of Dungeons & Dragons, comic books, graphic novels and games love this well-stocked shop and the two enthusiastic, knowledgeable owners. Counter-culture is king, with underground comics in addition to traditional X-Men and Spiderman franchises. Comic collectibles, specialty board games and other paraphernalia are available, and Big Brother will save books that come out until you can get in to purchase them. The owners host weekly Magic: The Gathering tournaments and other competitions in a separate back room gaming area.

(credit: timetestedbooks.net)

(credit: timetestedbooks.net)


Time Tested Books
1114 21st St.
Sacramento, CA 95811
(916) 447-5696
www.timetestedbooks.net

Rare books, used and first editions are the norm here, not the traditional assortment of John Grisham or Nora Roberts bestsellers. Personal accounts of 1800’s America are alongside volumes on mythology, antiquities, ancient crafts and folklore. The selections are not all esoteric. There are also out-of-print autobiographies and books on travel, local history, martial arts and poetry. Guests enjoy browsing through the pre-owned novels, detective stories, children’s books, humor, audio books and chronicles of the underground music scene. The owner will even take a list of books or authors you are searching for and notify you if a copy can be located.

(credit: abrighterchild.com)

(credit: abrighterchild.com)


A Brighter Child
8125 Greenback Lane
Fair Oaks, CA 95628
(916) 722-2228
www.abrighterchild.com

With an increasing number of children being home-schooled, parents need a place to get lesson plans, supplies and other tools. A Brighter Child fits the bill perfectly with a wide variety of books, teacher’s manuals and materials for students from kindergarten to high school. Available curriculum includes both classic and nontraditional methods, with everything from basic handwriting to trigonometry, SAT prep, foreign languages, logic and physics. Homeschoolers appreciate the options for special needs and sign language, and love using the playroom to keep younger kids busy while the adults shop.

Related: Best Literary Landmarks In Sacramento

Valerie Heimerich is a freelance writer out of Sacramento. She typically covers animals and community issues. She has volunteered and worked for many organizations helping animals and people.
Her work can be found at Examiner.com.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus